Follow

Data management for mobile devices in Coresystems Cloud

As all our mobile Apps (Android and iOS) are running in offline-mode it is advisable to care actively about Data management. Active data management will help you: 

  • get rid of obsolete data
  • get better performance when syncing with our cloud (less data has to be synced)
  • no risk to reach the device's memory limit (all mobile devices have space limitations, eg. 16GB, 32GB, 64GB)

In order to manage data actively within Coresystems Field Service Solution you have three possibilities:

  1. Set your cloud user permissions correctly, so that only allowed/permitted data is synced.
  2. Mark all objects you do not need (e.g. unnecessary price lists, inactive business partners etc.) to 'Ignore on Cloud'. These objects are then deleted from the mobile device. More details on how to configure objects as 'Ignore on Cloud' may be found here (read more how to hide objects in the cloud). Moreover, please notice that this applies to master data.
  3. Activate auto cleaning in the cloud company settings. If auto cleaning is setup, unnecessary data will not be synchronized to the mobile device anymore. This setting applies to transactional data like service calls that are added every day. Refer to the instructions below to learn how to setup auto cleaning.

 

Setup auto cleaning for obsolete data

In order to activate auto cleaning you need to open the cloud admin web page and login with the cloud account owner. 

https://eu.coresuite.com/admin/ or

https://us.coresuite.com/admin/

Setting 'DaysSinceLastChangeToMarkObsolete'

Go to 'Your database' > Settings > search setting 'DaysSinceLastChangeToMarkObsolete'

This setting will mark service calls, sales orders and their related transactions as obsolete if they reach a certain status, e.g. closed and were not changed for a certain amount of days. The setting is a number (=days) which tells the system when (after how many days) an object and its related sub-object are marked as obsolete.

Example: 

If setting is put to 30, all closed objects (e.g. Service call, which are closed and did not change the last 30 days) are marked with the obsolete-flag.

 

Setting 'CoreSystems.Objects.VisibilityDays'

Go to 'Your database' > Settings > search setting 'CoreSystems.Objects.VisibilityDays' 

This setting defines if and how many days from now an object marked as obsolete should still be synchronized to the mobile apps. This helps define that objects should still be visible even if they are obsolete for certain business cases. The setting is a number (=days) which tells the system when (after how many days) an object and its related sub-object should not be synched anymore to a mobile device

Example:

If you put this setting to 40 days and the obsolete setting is put to 30 days, all marked objects will not be sent to the mobile device anymore after 40 days.

 

Important

The auto cleaning will only show some effect after time has passed. Meaning: The number of days have to be spent first until the cloud starts marking the objects and stops synchronizing them down to the device. 

Auto cleaning is only active if both company settings are setup.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.